Home > King of Commenting, Site News > Not in HD Presents: King of Commenting Competition – 2009

Not in HD Presents: King of Commenting Competition – 2009

NotinHD-King of Commenting

We have been overwhelmed with the astonishing quality of our site’s commenters. You guys put serious energy into your creations and it shows day in and day out. Comments of all varieties end up on our posts. Witty, humorous, informative, drunken rants (mostly drunken rants), combinations of all four, as well as some all-around extremely odd remarks.

But who is the most talented/ entertaining commenter?

That’s what we intend to find out.

How will it work? I thought you’d never ask.

From here on out the Not in HD staff will evaluate all of your comments and archive their favorites. The top eight nominees will be seeded in a single-elimination playoff system which will take place in October. The King of Commenting Championship match-up will be held the week following the World Series.

The winner will revel in their new title, establishing Not in HD as the turf he (or she) will reign over for the next year.

Oh and the winner will also win his/ her very own champion’s comment blog, which if used correctly will be a post composed of various rips and insults aimed towards the losing competitors.

Anything goes in terms of comment style and everything is eligible to be nominated. The more creative the better.

Some comment strategies: If you write something which will appeal to all of Not in HD’s writers you’ll have a good chance of getting voted into the competition. However if you make a strong push to appeal to one particular staff member, you may find yourself with an exemption – if you are lucky.

I’m not sayin’, I’m just sayin’.

We will provide competition updates along the way, so take nothing for granted and continue putting your best foot forward (ie: Insulting commenters like Root or Will from Korea – just be prepared for the wrath those guys will sling your way if you do go toe-to-toe with them. They punch below the belt.). It could be your next comment that pushes you over the top.

So release the hounds. And good luck to you all. You loonies are going to need it.

Who’s man enough (or woman to be man enough) to be the king?

  1. dwdowning619
    May 19, 2009 at 12:27 PM

    By default, don’t I now win the competition since you guys are always schilling for people to come comments? Since no one else, will. I’ll do first and throw the gauntlet to the ground. I am the Joel McHale to Ryan Root’s Paul F. Tompkins. I am the Albert Pujols to Will in Korea’s Chan Ho Park.

    BRING IT!

  2. wstuchell
    May 19, 2009 at 8:18 PM

    Ouch Douglass, except everytime I say your name I think about D.B Sweeney in The Cutting Edge. I think I’ll leave it at that.

  3. dwdowning619
    May 20, 2009 at 8:25 AM

    Single “s” in my name. They must spell it differently in Korea or did you just have some kimchee in your eye?

  4. ritzpolo22
    May 20, 2009 at 6:01 PM

    2 Random and Curious Taxi Observations that Leave Me Feeling Jealous:

    I have never been in a cab that has been driven by a US citizen, or one that could engage in long conversation in English.
    Yet two TV observations leave me strangely wanting more…

    Can we please make it mandatory that all cab drivers learn the Biz Marquee and have it playing on a loop everytime they pick someone up so they can shout out at the top of their lungs in their deep baritone voice, “Oh baby you…. you got what I need…” just in the off chance that I take another cab sometime in the next two years so that I can re-make the Heineken commercial or is that too much to ask?

    And if I can’t have that all I ask for in my life is one ride in the Cash Cab. How can this idea actually become entertaining TV?

    Just mystifying that I am jealous that we don’t use Cab’s here in LA, just in the chance I could run into the Biz Marquee or the Cash Cab.

  5. rootman34
    May 24, 2009 at 1:34 PM

    Doug, you want me to bring it? Okay. Let’s do it. Although I do agree that Joel McHale is FAR superior to Paul F. Tompkins in every way possible, let’s step it up, shall we? I am the Johnny Carson to your Carson Daly. I am the “Monday Night Raw” to your “ECW”. I am the Lakers to your Clippers. I am the San Diego to your Merced (if that one doesn’t make sense to anyone, then count yourselves lucky). I am the Guinness to your Schlitz Malt Liquor. I am the “Sportscenter” to your “Daisy of Love” (Man, she’s so freaking ugly). And finally, just for good measure, I am the Jesus Christ to your Joseph Smith.

    Oh…

    Cory, dude, you want to know how “Cash Cab” can become entertaining TV to people? Well, just remember that Paris Hilton is getting a second, yes second, season of “Paris Hilton’s My New BFF”. Enjoy!

  6. rootman34
    May 24, 2009 at 1:36 PM

    P.S. Doug, you aren’t the only person who has commented on “Not In HD” articles. Check the “Poop Sundae” post last week. You’ll love it.

  7. wstuchell
    May 24, 2009 at 11:49 PM

    Actually the Kimchi (spell it right if you’re going to spell it at all) isn’t in my eye, it’s in my tummy and is delish. Yes, I intentionally misspelled your name. I wanted to emphasize the lass part of it and call you a girl but I could not find the italics button.

    As for your concept of being Albert Pujols I must say that is far from the truth. You see Albert Pujols is a god among men. I would think you are more of a Celine Dion type character. You know someone who is so deluded as to think that they actually are entertaining when the rest of the world just hopes you would quietly die in a Canadian Winter.

  8. dwdowning619
    May 26, 2009 at 12:05 PM

    I assume Will is referring to Root when he says “You know someone who is so deluded as to think that they actually are entertaining when the rest of the world just hopes you would quietly die in a Canadian Winter.” The odds of me dying in a Canadian winter are on par with Barbaro’s odds at the Belmont. (Too soon?)

    And Root, part of “bringing it” is being fresh and creative. Sure, i could have gone all day with the “Elisha Dushku to your Lindsey Lohan’s”, but one was enough to A: get my point across and B: not take up a whole part.

    Quality over Quantity, my padawan. Go shine your lightsaber and come back when you’re ready to challenge my King of Commenting crown

  9. wstuchell
    May 26, 2009 at 8:26 PM

    As a fellow San Diegan I do feel nothing but pity for those who have endured the horror of calling Merced home. It is understandable that not everyone can have the honor, nay the privilege of living in San Diego. Yet, I feel that using this analogy to compare you two is quite wrong. You see Root if you are San Diego, then you are the Miramar land fill. Nobody likes to acknowledge it, but on a warm day boy can you smell it.

  10. dwdowning619
    May 28, 2009 at 1:50 PM

    And by “it”, Will is referring to Root the landfill

  11. wstuchell
    May 29, 2009 at 1:16 AM

    Wow Doug. I think my special ed Korean student could have figured that out, but knowing the readership of http://www.notinhd.com thanks for clearing that up. Do you want a cookie for being so smart?

  12. dwdowning619
    May 29, 2009 at 10:49 AM

    Dude, I’m diabetic*. Take your cookie of death and eat it yourself.

    *Not really. But what if I was? Wouldn’t you feel bad?

  13. Cory Ritzau
    September 25, 2009 at 9:55 AM

    I was logging on to comment, thinking the competition was still open, but then I saw the photo from the awards ceremony posted at the top of the article.

    Congrats Root your award was well deserved…

  14. Ben Bates
    September 25, 2009 at 11:42 AM

    / hoping everyone realizes Cory just called Root a sissy la-la.

  15. andrewyates25
    September 30, 2009 at 3:27 PM

    Ya, I’m not even gonna try to win this one. I’ll bow out like the contestants on last night’s Biggest Loser.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

